College: Week 0 and FYSOP

About six days ago, I left my tiny home in Pennsylvania for the big city of Boston — my new home for the next four years as I tackle college.

Even though I’ve only been living in a dorm for six days, I feel like I’ve been here for sixth months already. This past week has been filled with nonstop activity: making friends, eating cold bagels, and doing community service.

First things first, let’s backtrack my college tale to move-in day.

On August 28, I moved into college. My family and I drove approximately four hours to Boston University where we unpacked and unloaded my things at Warren Towers — my new “home away from home” for the next year.

IMG_8888

Five hours later, I said goodbye to my mom, dad, and brother.

In all honesty, the actual goodbye was emotional…for my father. I would be seeing my family less than a week later for Matriculation; however, my father is tad bit more sensitive when it comes to saying goodbye, especially to his first born child.

Then after my family left, the real fun began.

And by fun, I mean community service. Whoo!

I signed up for FYSOP over the summer, truthfully, because the program allowed me to move in a week earlier. Little did I know, it would be one of the best experiences I’ve ever had.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with FYSOP, the program is a week long event that pertains to community service in the neighborhoods of Boston. Students are split into groups, and depending on their group, they go out into a particular neighborhood to serve the community in some way.

In my case, my group went to the neighborhoods of Dorchester and Mattapan. I helped with the clean-up and preparation of Mather School, I weeded an urban garden, and I even danced and talked to the elderly at an assisted living center.

I could talk about FYSOP for ages. However, to put it briefly: Boston is a wonderful and dynamic city, a place that is more than meets the eye and is filled with such amazing people whether they be local residents or my fellow FYSOP group members. I am so incredibly lucky and grateful to have had the opportunity to participate in a program like FYSOP.

After my FYSOP experience, I am more than excited to attend Boston University. I look forward to all the people I will meet, the places I will discover, and the things I will learn.

My college game plan? Do as much as I can when I can (within reason) and say yes to new adventures.

To many, college is the best four years of our lives.

Why not make the most of it?

So with that being said, more updates of college to come!

Also, check out my vlog that coincides with this post~

Love,

signature

 

Leave a comment